Brawn GP – Logo Design

7 03 2009

So for those of you who do not follow Formula One, the former Honda team has been taken over by Ross Brawn, former technical head of Honda and Ferrari before that.

A smart man indeed.

Except it seems when it comes to graphic design, this is the teams logo:

swoosh-main2

Now, I do quite like the black and yellow swoosh, but only because it reminds me of a livery for an F1 car I designed at High School many moons ago. For me the logo itself is just horribly disjointed, I am guessing the forward motion from ‘a’ onwards is to hint at speed, but to me it breaks the name up, the ‘Br’ looks lost and seperate and even at this size and resolution the treatment on ‘GP’ doesn’t work for me either.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t expect this to be some sort of design masterpiece (it’s not like most of the other teams’ are much to write home about) and presumably it has been done rather quickly (the website certainly has) but it just strikes me as a rather lost opportunity, especially when for those outwith the sport the name ‘Brawn’ doesnt have the luxury of  meaning anything to the man in the street (as opposed to say the Red Bull team) and indeed is probably more likely to be thought of as a make of shaver, it would have been a good opportunity to set about building a brand for the team, not just throwing together a rather generic looking logo.

Actions

Information

One response

7 03 2009
derricknation

I agree with everything you have mentioned. I also don’t think the text is horrible either. It just needs a little modification. Like maybe joining the letter ‘R’ and ‘A’ by the feet of the typeface.

Leave a Reply

